Watch Out – Not All Beer Is Vegan

How can you tell if the beer is vegan-friendly or not? The exact answer to this question can be challenging. However, I will share with you my take on this.

First, let’s see what the actual issue here is. All the ingredients in beer are vegan, yet some not-so-obvious beers are not vegan. For something to be vegan it shouldn’t contain animal products but also, it shouldn’t use animal products in the process of making.

When it comes to veganism people always talk about food and seem to forget about beer and wine. It seems so obvious when comes to drinks we naturally assume that drinks have nothing to do with animal products especially alcoholic ones however, this is not the case.

Is Beer Vegan or Not?

It all comes down on how it was made.

Beer is typically made from water, barley malt, hops and yeast. Innocent ingredients right? And suitable for vegans.

However, In the process filtering the beer prior to bottling, some brewers add finings which includes animal-derived products called Isinglass (a substance obtained from the dried swim bladders of fish). It also could be Gelatin, Egg White or Sea Shells. This is to purify the beer to clear it of yeast and settle it more quickly rather than to improve flavour or texture. The purpose is to make it brighter and pure.

There are also Finings that can include plant-derived product such as Irish Moss (species of red algae) or Seaweed. It all depends on the brewer on what product they choose to include which will determine if the beer will be vegan-friendly or not.

The more traditional beer is the more likely it’s not suitable for vegans.

Some animal products also used for flavouring and beer for instance honey. It is easy to identify this by looking at the beer name such as ‘Hiver The Honey Beer’, ‘Fuller’s Honey Dew’.

Also, some brewers add lactose, a milk sugar, especially dark beers is brewed with lactose. By adding lactose it becomes unfermentable when exposed to most brewing yeasts and instead, it will release sweetness and emulate milk stouts. This can be easy to spot on beers name such as ‘Mikkeller Milk Stout’, ‘ ‘Lancaster Milk Stout’.

Sadly, not all brewers reveal the production process of their beer and not all products used in the processing shows up ingredients on the labels. This is because in many countries they are not required to do so. As a regulation concern, the isinglass and gelatin are not considered to be an allergen, therefore, it’s not a requirement to specify on labels. In some countries is a requirement to specify ingredients on nutritional labelling on alcoholic beverages in restaurants but most often is not.

So for vegans beer-lovers, the investigation could be challenging and daunting. How to overcome this? The easiest is to have a handy list of vegan-friendly beers popular in your region.

Here is a list of popular vegan beers from all around the world.

Our Favourite Belgian Vegan Beer

There are too many Belgian beers to go through, so this is our personal recommendations (from myself and my husband)

We don’t like this one all that much but Stella Artois is vegan too.

Vegan-Friendly Scottish Beer

The most well-known Scottish pint, Tennents, is in fact vegan

Vegan-Friendly Irish Beer

All Guinness except ‘Guinness The 1759’ appears to be vegan.

“Yes, our new state-of-the-art filtration process has removed the use of isinglass as a means of filtration and vegans can now enjoy a pint of Guinness Draught, whether from the keg, bottle or from a can… Guinness Original, Guinness Extra Stout and Guinness Foreign Extra Stout are now suitable for vegans thanks to our new filtration system.”

Top 5 Beers from Germany are Vegan-Friendly *


Erdinger Kristall* – All except their bottles where the label glue is not vegan!

Aecht Schlenkeria Rauchbier

Augustiner Lagerbier Hell

Gaffel Kölsch

Remember to check out online search to find out the vegan status of virtually every beer.

What is your favourite vegan beer? Share with us.

Share this / Pin this

LaBante Fashion with respect

by | Oct 29, 2019



TheVeganKind Lifestyle Box

Easy Stir-Fried Vegetable

This super easy Stir-Fried Vegetable recipe is the perfect recipe to make for quick dinners or for when you have leftover vegetables that you need to use. There are...

Martina’s Vegan Gift Ideas From iHerb

Strong with Plants paid the full price for these items. These Vegan Gift Ideas' reviews are genuine. Not a sponsored post. I have always wanted to put together the...

Homemade Vegan Thai Curry

I like to make this homemade vegan Thai Curry whenever I want a warm, comforting food that is perfect for cosy, cold nights at home. When the creamy coconut milk is...

Konjac Seaweed Noodle Curry

Today, I experimented with a new recipe called Konjac Seaweed Noodle Curry. In South Korea, there are varieties of noodles you can find made from potatoes, rice,...

Quick and Easy Pumpkin Soup Recipe

This quick and easy Pumpkin Soup recipe will not only warm your tummies but your heart as well. This recipe is the perfect recipe to make when you're in a hurry but...

Chickpeas Walnut Salad

This Chickpea Walnut Salad recipe is super easy to make. It's a combination of some of my most favourite fresh vegetables in just one bite. It's packed with protein,...

5 Main Benefits Of Eating Pumpkin

What are the benefits of eating pumpkins? This autumn season, our pumpkin obsession has surely re-emerged. The pumpkin-flavoured food, decorations, and even real...

Noodle-Shroom Stir-Fry

Noodle-Shroom Stir-Fry

This Noodle-Shroom Stir-Fry has three different types of mushrooms and bok choy! This is one of my favourite stir-fry recipes because I can add different types of...


Colourful serum bottles on beige plinths with colourful cut out shapes and ingredients imagery.

About the Author

<a href="" target="_self">Inga K</a>

Inga K

Inga became vegan in March 2018. After a series of documentaries that hit hard, she and her husband switched to a plant-based diet within a week and vegan soon after. Inga has a UK Level 5 Advanced Diploma in Diet and Nutrition.


£100 Free Credit Banner is a blog for anyone who strives for a healthy and happy life. We share healthy plant-based (and often oil-free) recipes and give you the best tips on finding vegan local food whilst travelling, promoting a plant-based lifestyle focusing on good health and spiritual wellbeing.

A plant-based lifestyle is not about giving up. It’s about embracing all that’s good. Eat food that doesn’t harm your body, animals, or the planet. Use a little as possible and recycle everything. Eat local and unprocessed food to minimise your carbon footprint. Avoid buying anything that contributes to animal suffering.

Each individual’s dietary needs and restrictions are unique to the individual. Please seek advice from a professional nutritionist or your doctor.

Please see the full disclaimer here.





GreenBay Vegan Groceries Delivered


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Vegan Supplement Store Meal Replacement Weight Loss Bundle