The Truth About Figs. Is It Vegan or Not?

The Truth About Figs. Is It Vegan or Not?

I was highly confused and found it to be very strange and odd that people were discussing figs as non-vegan. I will let you decide whether you think they are suitable for vegans or not because it is a more personal opinion than anything else. Some vegan refuses to eat it and some don’t.

I loved eating figs in any forms dry or fresh. They are a good source of fibre and minerals such as calcium and potassium. When it comes to stocking up dry fruits, figs were definitely on top of my list. Although, eating them made me wonder how strange the figs look. Having looked at figs cavities I feel that I am eating some sort of weird-looking alien fruit which doesn’t look like of any dry fruits out there. But I liked the taste and the unique texture.

By nature, figs are non-animal so nothing wrong with that, therefore, vegan-friendly. But not everyone thinks that way. What could possibly be wrong?

Ripped Figs


The situation here goes back to nature – Pollination. The queen of the fig wasp will deposit her eggs and at the same time shed the pollen she got from the other fig. In fact, what she does is pollinating fig’s ovaries. Once the eggs have been deposited she dies and gets digested by the fig, providing “food” for the fig. When the eggs hatch the wasps will mate. The female wasps will collect the pollen whilst wingless male wasp’s job is to carve a path to the fig’s exterior for the female wasp to exit. The females will leave and pollinate another fig as a queen. The male wasps never leave the fruit, stay behind and die once they’ve freed all the female wasps.

Interesting to note, this applies to those figs species that requires to be pollinated by a female wasp.

Figs on the tree

So the question is, do we eat wasps? The answer to that Yes and No.

Certain kinds of figs, which rely on wasps for the pollination most likely will have the remainings of dead wasps in the fruit. Figs that are bought from local produce can contain wasps. As a result, most vegans will refuse to eat figs.

On the other hand, some figs are seedless which does not require pollination to produce fruit. This types of figs are commercially cultivated and will not contain wasps. At first, I assumed this may have been a result of recent cultivation practices. But upon further research, I came across material indicating that Figs were the first cultivated plant by humans over 11,000 years ago (12,000 if you’re reading this in the year 3000). Sources at the bottom of the page.

Figs on the bread

In conclusion:

So…figs vegan-lovers, when it comes to figs there is no wrong or right answer. Whatever you decide it is the right decision for you. If you are grossed out by the idea of eating figs with wasps, make sure you know what types of figs you are buying local or commercially produced and that will keep you at ease. Another thing to note is that the fig wasps are tiny when compared to regular ones. Not sure if that actually helps!

Wasps life cycle is a completely natural process and no animals were exploited so figs are still considered vegan. Peta confirms it’s vegan. It’s only not-vegan if animals are exploited. In any case, this has grossed me out personally and I’ll be very conscious and make sure that I buy the seedless type.

For more Vegan Knowledge, you can check out:


LaBante Fashion with respect

by | Nov 1, 2019



TheVeganKind Lifestyle Box

Martina’s Vegan Gift Ideas From iHerb

Strong with Plants paid the full price for these items. These Vegan Gift Ideas' reviews are genuine. Not a sponsored post. I have always wanted to put together the...

Homemade Vegan Thai Curry

I like to make this homemade vegan Thai Curry whenever I want a warm, comforting food that is perfect for cosy, cold nights at home. When the creamy coconut milk is...

Konjac Seaweed Noodle Curry

Today, I experimented with a new recipe called Konjac Seaweed Noodle Curry. In South Korea, there are varieties of noodles you can find made from potatoes, rice,...

Quick and Easy Pumpkin Soup Recipe

This quick and easy Pumpkin Soup recipe will not only warm your tummies but your heart as well. This recipe is the perfect recipe to make when you're in a hurry but...

Chickpeas Walnut Salad

This Chickpea Walnut Salad recipe is super easy to make. It's a combination of some of my most favourite fresh vegetables in just one bite. It's packed with protein,...

5 Main Benefits Of Eating Pumpkin

What are the benefits of eating pumpkins? This autumn season, our pumpkin obsession has surely re-emerged. The pumpkin-flavoured food, decorations, and even real...

Noodle-Shroom Stir-Fry

Noodle-Shroom Stir-Fry

This Noodle-Shroom Stir-Fry has three different types of mushrooms and bok choy! This is one of my favourite stir-fry recipes because I can add different types of...

Peppers Stuffed with Onion and Mushroom

Peppers Stuffed with Onion and Mushrooms

I personally love this Peppers Stuffed with Onion and Mushrooms recipe because I’m really a huge fan of peppers and I especially love stuffing them. They are...

Banana-na Bake Zero Sugar Vegan Fruit and Nut Cake

Banana-na Bake Zero Sugar

The best thing about this Banana-na Bake Zero Sugar cake is that you don't need to spend time figuring out the perfect egg substitute to make a cake because bananas...


Colourful serum bottles on beige plinths with colourful cut out shapes and ingredients imagery.

About the Author

<a href="" target="_self">Inga K</a>

Inga K

Inga became vegan in March 2018. After a series of documentaries that hit hard, she and her husband switched to a plant-based diet within a week and vegan soon after.Inga has a UK Level 5 Advanced Diploma in Diet and Nutrition.


£100 Free Credit Banner is a blog for anyone who strives for a healthy and happy life. We share healthy plant-based (and often oil-free) recipes and give you the best tips on finding vegan local food whilst travelling, promoting a plant-based lifestyle focusing on good health and spiritual wellbeing.

A plant-based lifestyle is not about giving up. It’s about embracing all that’s good. Eat food that doesn’t harm your body, animals, or the planet. Use a little as possible and recycle everything. Eat local and unprocessed food to minimise your carbon footprint. Avoid buying anything that contributes to animal suffering.

Each individual’s dietary needs and restrictions are unique to the individual. Please seek advice from a professional nutritionist or your doctor.

Please see the full disclaimer here.





GreenBay Vegan Groceries Delivered


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Vegan Supplement Store Meal Replacement Weight Loss Bundle