Which Bread Is Vegan And Which Ones Aren’t?

The good news is that most bread is vegan. Typical ingredients for making bread are flour, salt, yeast and water.

However, some recipes for making bread may contain milk, eggs, butter, or other animal byproducts. Therefore, this type of bread will not be suitable for vegans.

It is always best to check the ingredients label, but above all, make sure that bread does not contain any animal products.

Here is the list of bread from all over the world which are NOT suitable for Vegans.

Non-Vegan Bread

Let’s eliminate the ones that are unstable first.

Naan (Indian) – oven-baked flatbread usually contains milk and ghee (clarified butter) and typically brushed with butter.

Tortillas (Mexican) – can contain shortening (any fat that is a solid at room temperature). This can also be animal-based or plant-based

Crumpet (English) – usually contains milk

Breadsticks Grissini (Italian) – usually contains butter and sometimes parmesan cheese for sprinkling

Brioche Bread (French) – contain eggs and butter

Brown Soda (Irish) – contains buttermilk and honey.

Challah (Jewish) – braided bread, traditionally served on the Sabbath and holidays will contain eggs.

Pretzel (German) – pastry/bread usually contains butter.

Pão de Queijo (Brazil) – cheese buns will contain eggs, milk and parmesan cheese.

Pain de Ménage (Quebec) –  a plain white loaf that can be moistened with lard.

Basque Pumpkin Bread (Basque country) – adopted into the cuisine in parts of southwestern France and northern Spain – include eggs.

Pan de Muertos (Mexico) – Mexico’s Day of the Dead bread. This bread contains butter and eggs.

This bread is therefore baked to honour the passing of a loved one.

Frybread (USA) – multicultural feast at Thanksgiving usually contains milk. The traditional recipe contains lard.

Common Vegan Bread

Pita Bread 🇬🇷

Firstly, we have Pita – this bread is traditional Greek pita bread. This has always been vegan and we highly recommend that you eat this with hummus.

Pita Bread is Vegan - here we have it with hummus
Pita Bread is Vegan

Ingredients: water, yeast, flour, salt and olive oil

For the recipe go here: https://thestayathomechef.com/homemade-pita-bread/ or here https://www.halfbakedharvest.com/traditional-greek-pita-bread/

Ciabatta 🇮🇹

Secondly, Ciabatta. This Italian white bread made from wheat flour, water, olive oil, salt, and yeast.

Ciabatta Loaf of Bread
Ciabatta is Vegan as well.

For an authentic recipe, click here.

Baguettes 🇫🇷

Baguettes are Vegan – this thin loaf of French Bread is made from yeast, flour and salt.

For the recipe click here

Focaccia 🇮🇹

Focaccia is Vegan – this brea is a flat oven-baked Italian product with the texture of a pizza dough.

Ingredients: yeast, water, sugar, flour, salt, olive oil, and rosemary.

Focaccia Bread
Focaccia is Vegan

Here is my delicious oil-free vegan recipe for Focaccia Oil-Free Vegan Focaccia Bread Using Air Fryer

Sourdough Bread🇨🇭

A sourdough bread is made by the fermentation of dough.

It has a more sour taste. Therefore, it has a better quality than bread made with baker’s yeast.

Sourdough Loaf
Sourdough Bread is vegan

For the recipe, click here.

Ezekiel (Sprouted bread)

Ezekiel (also known as Sprouted bread) is Vegan too. It’s a type of sprouted bread, made from a variety of whole grains and legumes. This bread got its name in biblical texts Ezekiel 4:9

Ezekiel (Sprouted bread) Slices
Ezekiel (also know as Sprouted bread) is Vegan

For the recipe click here.

Conclusion and Tips

TIP: Bread that looks fluffier, fuller, and glossy shiny most likely contain eggs, butter, and/or milk and is not suitable for vegans. The ones that are flat, savoury, and dry tend to be vegan-friendly.

In conclusion, it is very tempting to have a bite when you see crispy, and freshly baked bread. Moreover, the natural instinct to think what the heck it’s ‘just bread’ with simple and ‘innocent’ ingredients.

But, above all, don’t get fooled by its temptation. Be aware of ‘hidden’ animal-derived ingredients too.
Always check, and ask!

by | Nov 1, 2019


Noodle-Shroom Stir-Fry

Noodle-Shroom Stir-Fry

This Noodle-Shroom Stir-Fry has three different types of mushrooms and bok choy! This is one of my favourite stir-fry recipes because I can add different types of...

Peppers Stuffed with Onion and Mushroom

Peppers Stuffed with Onion and Mushrooms

I personally love this Peppers Stuffed with Onion and Mushrooms recipe because I’m really a huge fan of peppers and I especially love stuffing them. They are...

Banana-na Bake Zero Sugar Vegan Fruit and Nut Cake

Banana-na Bake Zero Sugar

The best thing about this Banana-na Bake Zero Sugar cake is that you don't need to spend time figuring out the perfect egg substitute to make a cake because bananas...

Vegan Beef (TVP) Curry with Rice

Vegan Beef (TVP) Curry with Rice

My version of Vegan Beef (TVP) Curry makes such a great tasty topping for rice! I also use roasted curry powder to give it a ridiculously tasty sauce that...

Vegan Stir-Fried Noodles

Vegan Stir-fried Noodles

Vegan Stir-Fried Noodles is the perfect recipe if you want to cook a delicious dinner without making so much effort. One of the many things I love about this dish is...

Myth or Fact: Tofu Blog

5 Common Myths About Tofu

Are you wondering what are the common myths about tofu? For many people, especially vegans and vegetarians, tofu has been a great source of protein. Tofu is made by...

Stir-fried Cauliflower

Quick and Easy Stir-Fried Cauliflower

I have always loved how I can have endless creative ways to use cauliflower. This simple, quick, and easy stir-fried cauliflower recipe is one of my favourite ways...

Jamaican-Inspired Vegan Curry

This delicious Jamaican-inspired Vegan Curry is made with mushrooms, sweet red peppers, cherry tomatoes and Jamaican spice that gives its extra kick of irresistible...

Homemade Thin-Crust Vegan Pizza

Homemade Vegan Thin Crust Pizza

Did you know you can easily make the best-tasting homemade vegan thin crust pizza at home? Being vegan, it's hard to find a healthy, dairy-free pizza that won't lead...

Air-Fried Vegan Banana Bread

Air-Fried Vegan Banana Bread

I made a super simple and easy Vegan Banana Bread. It is oil, egg and dairy-free. I made a little twist and decided to make it using only my air fryer. It turned out...

About the Author

<a href="https://strongwithplants.com/author/inga/" target="_self">Inga K</a>

Inga K

Inga became vegan in March 2018. After a series of documentaries that hit hard, she and her husband switched to a plant-based diet within a week and vegan soon after.Inga has a UK Level 5 Advanced Diploma in Diet and Nutrition.

Strongwithplants.com is a blog for anyone who strives for a healthy and happy life. We share healthy plant-based (and often oil-free) recipes and give you the best tips on finding vegan local food whilst travelling, promoting a plant-based lifestyle focusing on good health and spiritual wellbeing.

A plant-based lifestyle is not about giving up. It’s about embracing all that’s good. Eat food that doesn’t harm your body, animals, or the planet. Use a little as possible and recycle everything. Eat local and unprocessed food to minimise your carbon footprint. Avoid buying anything that contributes to animal suffering.

Each individual’s dietary needs and restrictions are unique to the individual. Please seek advice from a professional nutritionist or your doctor.

Please see the full disclaimer here.



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *