If you are thinking of becoming vegan or know someone who is vegan you might have questions. What is veganism? What vegans eat ? What they do and don’t.

First of all, what is veganism?

Veganism is a lifestyle that not only seeks to exclude the exploitation of animals but it is a lifestyle that rejects consuming dairy, meat, poultry, seafood, eggs, gelatin and honey.

Apart from avoiding eating any animal products, vegans will seek to exclude to use commodities, clothing that has animals in it such as leather, fur, silk, suede and wool as well as personal and household products, cosmetics made from animals or animal-derived materials. Furthermore, they avoid products tested on animals and places that use animals for entertainment.

Some Vegans Avoid Refined White Sugar and Some Wines

Many vegans will stay away from refined white sugar due to bone char and from wines because they are not vegan-friendly.

Refined White Sugar

According to Wikipedia: “Historically, bone char was often used in sugar refining as a decolorizing and deashing agent, particularly in cane sugar as this contains more coloured impurities.“.

We know that in Australia the use of bone char is banned. In Europe, most refined sugar does not contain bone char however, they are widely found in imported sugar and sugar-related products. It is common practice in the US and a safe list, particularly for Americans, can be found here. https://www.peta.org/living/food/is-sugar-vegan/

Why wines are not vegan-friendly?

The reason that some wines are not vegan-friendly is due to wine clarification process called fining. Those wines that produced traditionally, the producer will use animal-derived fining agents. The most commonly used blood and bone marrow, casein (milk protein), gelatin (animal protein) as processing aids.

These fining agents are not additives to the wine, however, the tiny traces of the agent may still be absorbed into the wine during the process.

Some wines are not vegan-friendly and include animal products

People follow veganism will aim to end animal cruelty or any form of exploitation. They support environment, promote peace and compassion as well as look for products ethically and sustainably sourced.

  • Vegans eat a 100% Plant-Based Diet which means
    • No animals
    • No milk, cheese, butter, eggs
    • No honey
  • Vegans maintain a cruelty-free lifestyle which means
    • No leather
    • No wool
    • No fur
    • No musk
    • make all efforts to avoid anything that has been tested on animals.

Veganism Definition according to the vegan society

Some people argue some of the benefits to humans and the eco-system by consuming products like honey. While it may or may not be correct about benefits, it definitely isn’t vegan.

According to the vegan society, the following is the correct definition:

Veganism is a way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose.

https://www.vegansociety.com/go-vegan/definition-veganism
Swimming Pig
Animal lover is feeding a swimming pig

Other Sources

Wikipedia
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Veganism

About the use of honey
https://www.vegansociety.com/go-vegan/honey-industry

Nutritionfacts.org (Dr. Greger)
https://nutritionfacts.org/topics/vegans/

Longhorn Cows
Longhorn Cows – Peace and Love on the Planet